Skincare!

Let’s talk skincare…

My attempts at taking care of my skin have varied great over the years from couldn’t care less to highly compulsive. Lately I’ve been trying to be better at consistently caring for my skin… with some degree of success. I know, you’d think that since I like makeup and things so much I’d be better at taking care of myself… But lets be honest, sometimes we just don’t have time to spend on ourselves – story of my life.

Anyway, I have very fair skin with the tendency towards sunburns and in the summer (and most times of year) I have a fair number of freckles. Also, there is a good chance that I will develop rosacea at some point in my life. I already have cheeks that some day like to be really red for no apparent reason. So I really do make an attempt at being good to my skin to try and protect it for down the line.

Face wash

Philosophy Purity Made Simple Face WashI am currently in LOVE with Philosophy’s Purity Made Simple face wash. It doesn’t dry out my face and it leaves my skin feeling refreshed and clean. When I started using it I saw a noticeable difference in my complexion and the overall tone of my skin. It was great to finally use something that I felt made a noticeable difference to my skin. It took me a little while to wean myself off using exfoliating face scrub everyday… (I had previously been using Neutrogena’s Oil-Free Acne Wash in the Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub variety all the time) but I knew that I really shouldn’t be doing that to my skin especially now that I am not breaking out as much as I used to (Yay! because nothing is worse than being twenty-something with acne). Using the Philosophy gives me the same clean feeling that I was getting with the exfoliating soap – something that’s really important to me especially after a day of dancing and sweating and makeup – I often feel like I want to scrub off a layer of my skin.

Cleansing Brush

CVS Facial Cleansing Power Brush

My other favorite somewhat-recent acquisition is the CVS Facial Cleansing Power Brush. It’s the CVS version of Olay’s Pro X Advanced Cleansing System which Olay claims works as well as Clarisonic. I wouldn’t know that because I’ve never used a Clarisonic – but I know that lots of people swear by them. But my budget does not allow for the purchasing of something that expensive – so I went with the budget version for $19.99 and I love it. I use it with the Philosophy face wash (or any other wash I might be using because sometimes I vary slightly) and it’s great.  It has two speeds and can change direction as well. I generally use just the slower speed and occasionally up the speed on the less-sensitive areas of my face (like my forehead) and along my hairline. I think it has really helped improve my skin – between the brush and the cleanser my skin feels nice, clean, and healthy all the time!

Makeup Remover

Ponds Makeup Remover Wipes

This is probably something I should actually spend some money on at some point and get myself a nice bottle of some kind of remover…. but currently I’ve just been really happy using Pond’s Makeup Removing Wipes. I really like makeup wipes because they don’t have that oily icky feeling that some removers have and they’re just so convenient. Which I’m all about. Especially when getting home late at night and being exhausted and just needing something to quickly get the makeup off my face so I can fall into bed. I should be better about what I do with my face when I’m exhausted… but this is a start. And the Ponds wipes don’t irritate my skin or my eyes, I’ve liked some of the CVS Brand or Neutrogena brand ones but sometimes they would irritate my eyes and Ponds haven’t done that yet. Hooray!

Moisturizer

Eye Hope & Hope in a JarThe number one area I need to improve in – moisturizing my face. But I have this problem where it will seem like my face will be fine with a moisturizer and that I’m not allergic to it. And then suddenly it will freak out and the area of my eyes will do their weird swelling and hurting thing. It’s a big pain. I’ve had some luck lately with Hope in a Jar by Philosophy. After discovering my love of the Purity face wash after getting a little bottle for $10 in a Sephora checkout line I ended up getting one of those packs of things from them that had a big bottle of the face wash, a bottle of Eye Hope, a pot of Hope in a Jar, and a few Microdelivery Peel pads.

Overall I’ve liked both the Hope in a Jar and the Eye Hope (I haven’t used the peel yet because I’m aways careful about those sort of things with my skin). Though I was starting to feel like maybe they were irritating my skin and I haven’t been using them for a little bit now… I need to start moisturizing again. Maybe the solution is to have two sets of moisturizers I can alternate between so that neither starts to irritate my skin. Not sure. Any suggestions would be awesome.

So those are the products I use in my daily, or almost daily I suppose, skincare regimen. I’ll do another post later on products I enjoy using on a more occasional basis.

What is your daily beauty regimen?

One thought on “Skincare!

Leave a Reply

